Asian Diplomacy III (ea05)

by David Lawler, updated and modified by Peter Baer

Download Map

Note that there are absolutely no rule changes from the standard Dip rulebook. Just a new map. Comments: canals are similar to Constantinople in the regular Vanilla game; ie fleets and armies may cross, but only one may be occupying the territory at a time. Asian Diplomacy has almost no historical basis.

Countries and Starting Positions

There are 7 nations. As with Youngstown, there are 2 nations beginning with the letter “I”; once again, the letter “N” is used for India. “I” is used by Indonesia.

The starting positions are:

ChinaA BeijingA TibetF Shanghai  
India A CalcuttaA DelhiF Bombay   
IndonesiaF Borneo F Java F Sumatra 
JapanF HokkaidoF HonshuA ManchuriaF Philippines
RussiaA MoscowA SevastopolF St Petersburg 
SiberiaA Irkutsk  F Kamchatka A West Siberia 
PersiaA IranA IraqF Arabia (east coast)

Victory Criteria

40 territories are marked as supply centres and 21 are needed to win.


Many provinces have a few abbreviations that are acceptable; for example, ura and ural for urals. Most provinces can be abbreviated by the first 3 letters of the name, exceptions to this rule are:

eas East Africa Sea
esb East Siberia
ecs East China Sea
eio East Indian Ocean
eme,emed Eastern Mediterranean
hkg,hk Hong Kong
hon Honshu
irn Iran
irq Iraq
jav Java
jvs Javan Sea
scs South China Sea
sio South Indian Ocean
tha Thailand
ths Thai Sea

Other acceptable abbreviations are in the file; if in doubt you can always spell out the name in full.